-Canada is on the continent of North America.
-The country stretches from the Atlantic Ocean to the Pacific Ocean.
-The Arctic Ocean is north and the United States is south. 
-Canada is north of the 49th parallel of latitude.
-The 49th parallel was chosen as a border from the Great Lakes to the west coast.


-second largest country in the world (Russian Federation is the largest)
-ten provinces and three territories (capital cities are in brackets).
Provinces : Alberta (Edmonton), British Columbia (Victoria), Manitoba (Winnipeg), New Brunswick (Fredericton), Newfoundland and Labrador(St. John's), Nova Scotia (Halifax), Ontario (Toronto), Prince Edward Island (Charlottetown), Quebec (Quebec City), Saskatchewan (Regina)
Territories : Yukon (Whitehorse), Nunavut (Iqaluit), Northwest Territories (Yellowknife),
-population 33,212,696 (July 2008 est.)
-capital city of Canada - Ottawa (Ontario)
-leader of Canada - Prime Minister Stephen Harper 
-emblem - maple leaf
-flag - red and white with a red maple leaf
-Canada's birthday is on the first of July. 
-animal - the beaver
-motto - "From sea to sea"
-national anthem - "O Canada"
-RCMP (Royal Canadian Mounted Police) the national police force
-there are six time zones 


Post a Comment

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More